RSS

25 Apr

A wonderful list for writers

Time.com has compiled an essential alphabetical listing of phobias that should be in every writer’s tool box in their article “Phobias from A to Z.”

Here’s a few of their entries:

A
ablutophobia: fear of bathing
acarophobia: … itching
acerophobia: … sourness
achluophobia: … darkness
acousticophobia: … noise
acrophobia: … heights
aerophobia: … drafts, air
agliophobia: … pain
agoraphobia: … open spaces
agrizoophobia: … wild animals
agyrophobia: … crossing the street
aichmophobia: … needles and other pointed objects
ailurophobia: … cats
albuminurophobia:.. .kidney disease
alektorophobia: … chickens
alliumphobia: … garlic

Z
zelophobia: … jealousy
zemmiphobia: … the great mole rat
zeusophobia: … God or gods
zoophobia: … animals
http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/03/28/spider_wideweb__470x356,0.jpg
Read entire article here

View original post

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “

  1. emaginette

    June 2, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    Excellent list. I love it. 🙂

     
    • cecemuoki

      June 3, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks, I loved this as well. Never knew there were so many phobias. 🙂

       
  2. Jennifer M Eaton

    June 9, 2012 at 2:38 am

    I have on that’s not listed here. Fear of Unfamiliar places. They freak me out. My husband can’t stand open spaces.

     
    • cecemuoki

      June 9, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      Thank you, Jennifer. Had forgotten about that one. I’ve added those on my list. Myself, when I get close to a swimmingpool or just the thought of sitting behind a steering wheel, I break into buckets of sweat. Really!

       
      • Jennifer M Eaton

        June 9, 2012 at 11:25 pm

        Wow… no driving? Has it always been like that, or did something happen?

         
      • cecemuoki

        June 10, 2012 at 8:42 pm

        When I was six years, on the way to school, was run down at the zebra crossing by car – one of those drivers who always in a hurry. Later on I took driving lessons. my driving instructor was horrible. I ended up being stressed and drove over pedestrian walks and I was sooo scared I’d run someone down. It’s something I’d like to try again, but my heart thumps so hard at the thought.

         

Leave a Reply

 
